6 Reasons to Make Your Bed

I didn’t grow up in a “make your bed” household. Mommy was probably worse at that than I am was. I’ve been making a conscious effort to make my bed every day. Maybe it’s not a perfectly made bed, but it’s far better than a not made at all bed. I’m still perfecting my technique. I’m working on the principle that if you take care of what you have, you’ll be blessed to get more. I did grow up in THAT household. Well, I want new bedding with extra pillows. Lots of pillows. It’s been on my list for a while now, which indicates that I need to do better with the bedding I already have. That doesn’t just make me a good steward of what’s already mine, but it comes with additional benefits.

6 Reasons to Make your Bed

  1. When cleaning a room, making the bed will give you the most “bang for your buck.” The bed is the largest thing in the room, so keeping it neat will give you the most visual impact for your time.
  2. It’s more comfortable to be in a clean room. Somehow cleaning what’s going on around you helps clear space in your mind as well.
  3. Studies have shown a made bed and a tidy room helps you sleep better.
  4. Starting off each night in a freshly made bed keeps you from getting tangled in the covers  at night. It also keeps you properly tucked. This is probably what assists in #3.
  5. Jackie Asthon at Apartment Therapy says that a made bed will increase your happiness!  Who couldn’t use some extra happiness?
  6. It makes your room feel more romantic. There’s something about a freshly made bed that makes you just want to get in it. Check out this post on  How Does She?  for 10 more tips for a romantic bedroom.

Besides, nobody (including you) can admire your bedding and abundance of pillows if the bed is never made.

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 714 other followers

